Inspiration Monday: this is how it starts

22 Jan

Sorry I’m late, folks. My Internet was down last night, as was/is the Internet of many others, apparently. For a few minutes, I sat in front of my computer wondering if this was how the apocalypse would begin. Then I went to bed early. I think I have another cold.

LadyWhispers

Mike

Chris

LoveTheBadGuy and another

-

The Rules

There are none. Read the prompts, get inspired, write something. No word count minimum or maximum. You don’t have to include the exact prompt in your piece, and you can interpret the prompt(s) any way you like.

OR

No really; I need rules!

Okay; write 200-500 words on the prompt of your choice. You may either use the prompt as the title of your piece or work it into the body of your piece. You must complete it before 6 pm CST on the Monday following this post.

The Prompts:

this is how it starts
written in code
smother
off again
voiceless

 

Want to share your Inspiration Monday piece? Post it on your blog and link back to today’s post (here’s a video on how to do it); I’ll include a link to your piece in the next Inspiration Monday post. No blog? Email your piece to me at bekindrewrite (at) yahoo (dot) com. (I do reserve the right to NOT link to a piece as stated in my Link Discretion Policy.)

Plus, get the InMon badge for your site here.

Happy writing!

-

* MC = Mature Content.

Opinions expressed in other writers’ InMon pieces are not necessarily my own.

18 Responses to “Inspiration Monday: this is how it starts”

  1. jubilare January 22, 2013 at 9:24 am #

    Have not a cold! One should not have to face unexpected apocalypses with a cold.

    • Stephanie Orges January 25, 2013 at 9:30 pm #

      Looks like it’s just really bad cedar allergies, actually. I’m feeling better now, mostly.

      • jubilare January 26, 2013 at 11:21 am #

        Cedar is blooming in your area?

      • Stephanie Orges January 28, 2013 at 7:52 pm #

        I guess. The pollen counts say it is high. Is it early in the season for cedar to bloom? If so I’m sure it can be explained by the warm Texas weather.

  2. Craig Towsley January 23, 2013 at 11:16 am #

    Haven’t written anything in so long – banged this out at lunch. Then I thought about it and It might apply to all the prompts, maybe.

    Blackout 100 words

  3. Carrie January 24, 2013 at 8:19 am #

    Been a while since i had a chance to do InMon :). Here’s my piece

    http://museunleashed.com/2013/01/24/voiceless-summons/

  4. elmowrites January 24, 2013 at 4:33 pm #

    Here’s mine – bit rough around the edges, I think. I’d love to hear your thoughts

    http://elmowrites.wordpress.com/2013/01/24/inspiration-monday-this-is-how-it-starts/

  5. chriswhitewrites January 25, 2013 at 2:43 pm #

    Here’s mine – And Then There Were Two:

    http://chriswhitewrites.com/2013/01/26/and-then-there-were-two/

    Now, back to work on the long stuff…

  6. creativityorcrazy January 27, 2013 at 9:14 am #

    Thanks for the prompts. Here’s my piece : New Beginnings –

    http://creativityorcrazy.wordpress.com/2013/01/27/new-beginnings/

  7. jubilare January 28, 2013 at 8:27 pm #

    It’s early here in Tennessee, though the weather has been so weird that it is possible.

    • Stephanie Orges February 1, 2013 at 9:45 pm #

      As we say in Texas, if you don’t like the weather, wait five minutes.

      • jubilare February 1, 2013 at 11:06 pm #

        Heh, yep. We say that here, too. This last week we had spring-like weather, then tornadoes then snow. One day I am admiring the crocus and the next my car is frozen shut. :P At least it’s never boring!

      • Stephanie Orges February 2, 2013 at 11:22 am #

        True that!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sympathy « jubilare - January 22, 2013

    [...] jubilare You can blame my muse, or BeKindRewrite for this. Both have a share in it. This is just a sketch related to some brainstorming I have been [...]

  2. Blackout « Craig Towsley - January 23, 2013

    [...] (off again) courtesy of BeKindRewrite‘s Inspiration [...]

  3. Voiceless Summons « The Muse Unleashed - January 24, 2013

    [...] Bowie; Master Class, first line of I Wore the Ocean in the Shape of a Girl by Kelle Groom; and Inspiration Monday (used this is how it starts, written in code, and voiceless.) Click on the links to see what other [...]

  4. New Beginnings « creativityorcrazy - January 27, 2013

    [...] is a short bit of a story I wrote for a word prompt on Inspiration Monday over at the Be Kind Rewrite blog. [...]

  5. Wednesday Stories: Edmund « writersclubkl - January 29, 2013

    [...] InMon – this is how it starts [...]

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 314 other followers

